Christmas In July ~ Cricut Window Cards

20120716-224703.jpg

Shiela over at She’s A Sassy Lady shared how she makes a simple window card using her PC Gypsy and Cricut this past Saturday on her blog. I look forward to her Saturday post each week and always enjoy what others share with the link it up. I promised myself that I would take the challenge and know out a few Christmas cards in the process!

I designed the card on my Gypsy on Saturday, but you can use DS or Cricut Craft Room (free!) to do the same. I personally love the portability of my Gypsy and stick with it most of the time. On Sunday I updated my Gypsy using Cricut Sync (took over 5 hours!) but it worked So was so happy! Tonight I cut the pieces and did two different layerings to see what I like best. It’s a work in progress.

20120716-225615.jpg

I used dimensional adhesive on the first one I played with. My paper is some retired Basic Grey Fruitcake that I have left over in my stash and some other papers I have in my stash.

20120716-225924.jpg

You can see the layers in this photo and I love the dimension of this look.

20120716-230137.jpg

This is a true window card. My issue with this style of card is that when I write in it, it’s going to show through the window. Vellum came to mind to put on the inside of the window. I went digging in my stash and found some scraps of a gold leaf printed vellum.

20120716-230804.jpg

20120716-230911.jpg

The card on the left is the card that has no dimension adhesive. The card on the right is my preference using a dimensional adhesive. I used the vellum backing on the inside of the cards. I want to add some bling but that will have to wait for another day as my craft time has run out for today.

20120716-232339.jpg

I’ll be back in a day or two with my finished two window cards and with all the details and sizes of these two window cards. Thanks for stopping by today.

2 thoughts on “Christmas In July ~ Cricut Window Cards

Leave a Reply

Christmas In July ~ Cricut Window Cards

20120716-224703.jpg

Shiela over at She’s A Sassy Lady shared how she makes a simple window card using her PC Gypsy and Cricut this past Saturday on her blog. I look forward to her Saturday post each week and always enjoy what others share with the link it up. I promised myself that I would take the challenge and know out a few Christmas cards in the process!

I designed the card on my Gypsy on Saturday, but you can use DS or Cricut Craft Room (free!) to do the same. I personally love the portability of my Gypsy and stick with it most of the time. On Sunday I updated my Gypsy using Cricut Sync (took over 5 hours!) but it worked So was so happy! Tonight I cut the pieces and did two different layerings to see what I like best. It’s a work in progress.

20120716-225615.jpg

I used dimensional adhesive on the first one I played with. My paper is some retired Basic Grey Fruitcake that I have left over in my stash and some other papers I have in my stash.

20120716-225924.jpg

You can see the layers in this photo and I love the dimension of this look.

20120716-230137.jpg

This is a true window card. My issue with this style of card is that when I write in it, it’s going to show through the window. Vellum came to mind to put on the inside of the window. I went digging in my stash and found some scraps of a gold leaf printed vellum.

20120716-230804.jpg

20120716-230911.jpg

The card on the left is the card that has no dimension adhesive. The card on the right is my preference using a dimensional adhesive. I used the vellum backing on the inside of the cards. I want to add some bling but that will have to wait for another day as my craft time has run out for today.

20120716-232339.jpg

I’ll be back in a day or two with my finished two window cards and with all the details and sizes of these two window cards. Thanks for stopping by today.

Leave a Reply

