Up Up and Away! Cricut Shape Card

20120812-093130.jpg

I enjoy creating shape cards using my Provo Craft Gypsy or Cricut Craft Room. Shiela over at She’s A Sassy Lady had another great tutorial up a week ago Saturday using the Gypsy & I designed this card then but just got around to cutting and assembling them today. It’s been a very busy week around here, but I got them done this morning! Yesterday I spent a few minutes deciding what papers I was going to use while I was in
my office working on our eBay store and had them laid out so I could just focus on cutting and assembly early this morning.

20120812-094059.jpg

This Hot Air Balloon is on the Everyday Pop Up Cards cartridge. I used the weld feature to create the base of my card. I make two of each card I design now so I have one to give and one to put in my stash for later. I have recipients for both of these so my stash will be short this design until I make more. Shiela shares that tip every Saturday and I have made it a new practice when I get to design and create cards.

20120812-095006.jpg

This is the first layer of the hot air balloon. I used a DCWV paper stack that I have had for a while now. I had to use the Hide Contour feature to be able to cut the banners out of different paper than my first layer of the ballon as they are both on the same feature key & button. This is a great feature of Gypsy, CCR, and DS.

20120812-095243.jpg

As I cut I go ahead and start laying my layers on top of each other so I can make sure they are sized correctly. That way if I need to adjust the size I can adjust the size on the saved project file on my Gypsy or CCR and then cut them once! That being said, I always find a way to use any extra cuts on another project!

20120812-095518.jpg

I cut the smaller layers for the banner at medium speed and high pressure as this paper is pretty thick and has some embossing on most of it. One set of them did not cut very well. It was a large pattern that was embossed paper and perhaps too thick so I chose to cut it again from a different paper and it cut like butter with a hot knife!

20120812-101006.jpg

Now it’s assembly time! My favorite part of the process.

20120812-102008.jpg

As you can see they are not identical. I really like the orange in first cut of the balloon and wanted more of it to show up on one so I did not use the last layer I cut for that card. I will use it on another project later.

20120812-102416.jpg

I picked out a few accessories for each card and then went to work adhering all my layers. I used liquid Tombow adhesive and my EK adhesive pen for the balloon and banner layers. The EK pen dries a little to fast for my slower pace so I really like to use the Tombow liquid. As I was adhering the bucket to the first card I decided to pop it up using some dimensional adhesive.

20120812-103315.jpg

On the second card I opted to pop up the entire ballon and really like it a lot! The smallest things bring me joy!

20120812-103456.jpg

When making cards I use my Scor Buddy that is perfectly sized for cards to make sure I get a good score line for the fold of the base of my card.

20120812-103844.jpg

My completed cards! It took less time to cut and assemble these two cards than it has to write this post. LOL, hope you like them and will get inspired to create using your favorite tools and techniques!

The brand new Close To My Heart Cricut Artist Bundle is available to order now and it too has a hot air balloon on it along with another 699 cuts! If you have a Cricut this bundle is a must have!

20120812-104259.jpg.

Between August 15-31, get your Cricut Artiste cartridge for $99.00. The Cricut Artiste bundle includes:

* Cricut Artiste (suggested retail price of $ 59.99), Three Stamp Sets (retail value of $17.95 each), & Three Dimensional Element chipboard sets (retail value of $4.95 each). That is a total recommended retail price of $128.69 for the much lower price of $99!

– Because you spent over $50, you can now purchase the August Stamp of the Month for $5.00 a value of $17.95!

20120812-145138.jpg
YOU WILL SAVE ==>; $42.64!

Hop on over to my business website to check out this great product and much more.

http://DonnaFaglie.ctmh.com

Today I was browsing a few of my favorite blogs and went to see what the lovely and very creative designers at Bitten By The Bug2 were up to and found their challenge that fits my two cards perfectly!

10 thoughts on “Up Up and Away! Cricut Shape Card

  1. Your balloon cards are awesome! I love the papers you used and I love that you put some pearls on the banner. I so love to pop layers too, it is the small things that give great joy for sure. Thanks for joining us at BBTB2 😉

  2. Darling. I love how you made it into a shape card, super super cute. Thank you for sharing your creativity with us at BBTB2!

    -Rebekah

Leave a Reply

