Pinterest Inspired Single Photo 12X12 Layout

One of my favorite things to do on my days off is spend a few minutes browsing Pinterest in the card and Scrapbooking realm and see what I find that speaks to my creative side, Today I found a layout that for some reason speaks to me. Not really sure what exactly it is, but I like it! You can took a look at it Here. I can say that I really like the bow as it adds a touch of femininity to the layout that could come out looking very masculine given the context of the photo and the nondescript paper colors. I knew I had the perfect photo.

20130609-220914.jpg

I started out with my photo and then went in search of some papers and a neutral colored card stock. I have Basic Grey Oliver 6X6 paper stack and a closet full of card stock choices to choose from for my background. I played around with how to layer my photo with the different papers I pulled from the stack for about 20 minutes. Then I went through my Close To My Heart Artiste and Art Philosophy handbooks to find the perfect embellishments for this layout. This can take a while as I play with it in CCR or on my Gypsy. Above is what I ended up with. Taking a quick photo of it with my iPhone is handy so I can go back and refer to it,

20130609-221653.jpg

I was going to use the 2nd bow at first, but ended up cutting for the first bow and loved it!

20130609-221817.jpg
The bows take a little drying time and some patience when you are first making them. They are worth it and get easier with time. Think of the possibilities with these bows. Using embossing folders, wet embossing, brads, etc…

20130609-222052.jpg
The bow was cut at 1 inch. The label was cut at 2.75 from some Kraft Core card stock and cut in half and then sanded with a sanding block. The tag was cut at 2 inches; cut just the top off and added a flat pearl. I choose this tag because I wanted to use the three tiny stars. I’ll use the rest of it for another project. I found this double sided banner on the Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge and hide the tic mark in the center. Now I have a 2nd banner to use on a card or another layout. It’s cut at 1 inch as well.

20130610-205047.jpg
I had to go back and cut the ribbon for the bow for some reason it just did not cut the first time! You can see my well used mat here and these images cut perfectly! I love that about the Close To My Heart Cricut Cartridges!

20130610-205413.jpg

You can see I have added my Cricut embellishments to my layout. I love the dimension of this bow! Oh I will be using these much more in the future! Especially on cards that I hand deliver.

20130610-205631.jpg
A little bit of sanding on the label that cut so beautifully out of the Kraft Core card stock and some ink around the edges. The yellow tag is placed in line with my sweet grandsons face to draw your eye to him as he is the focus of this page. Did u notice the three title tiny stars up in the left corner? I used the Jelly Roll Clear stardust pen on them to add a little bling to my little boy layout.

20130610-210619.jpg
Thanks for coming by today! I hope you’ve enjoy this scrapbook layout and that you’ll find some inspiration and make a card or layout or both! You know I have scraps left from this project on my Scrapin Island so a card or another layout (maybe both) are in the planning stages.

June Specials
The June stamp of the Month is called A Flowering Bunch (s1306A) and coordinates with the Artiste cartridge. You can get this stamp set (valued at $17.95) for only $5 if you place an order of $50 or more.

20130610-211119.jpg

Receive a free My Creations® mini banner in June! Make it a “banner” day by placing a $25 order that includes a qualifying stamp set to receive your free mini banner. The mini banner includes 10 chipboard pennants in 4 different shapes with 9 jump rings for hanging. Use the mini banner as a decoration for your parties and get-togethers this summer for many “banner” days!
Dates: Offer valid June 1–30, 2013.

20130610-211327.jpg

One thought on “Pinterest Inspired Single Photo 12X12 Layout

Leave a Reply

