Valentine Cards

It’s been awhile since I posted here due to some technical difficulties with WordPress. I hope you’re all warm, safe, and at home with your loved ones on this very cold winter night in NE Geirgia. We are having a terrible snow storm here that has many many people stranded on the highways and all the motels are full. It’s bad, so please say a prayer for folks caught in this mess and no place to sleep but their cold cars.

20140128-214551.jpg
I started out with this die cut from Close To My Heart Artbooking Cricut cartridge. It’s a scrap that I had in my stash so I decided to use it for a small Valentines card. You can see it measures at approximately 2.75″X 5.5″.

20140128-214926.jpg
I folded it in half and used a bone folder to crease it.

20140128-215025.jpg
You can see that I used some scraps from various 6×6 paper stacks and two punches. One is the owl punch from Stampin Up and the other is a large heart border punch from EK Success. Punches make for easy and quick cards. This is the perfect size for a Valentine or a gift card.

20140128-215353.jpg
I assembled my cute little owl and mounted him close to the inside, bottom left edge of the card. I did this so that I could use my We Are Memory Keepers hole punch to punch out the areas for his google eyes to show up. I have also inked up my sponge with some coordinating Rose ink and inked the front and inside of my card.

20140128-215753.jpg
I put my hearts of various sizes and pattern papers on the front right of my card. So once I had the owl inside my card I place tiny glue spots on Tombow glue on his eyes and gently shut the card. This put the glue on the inside of the front and I quickly used my hole punch to punch places for his eyes to show through. Once I had the holes I added my google eyes. Super easy and cut.

20140128-220325.jpg
For another touch I made a easy slide to hold my card shut. I used a heart border punch from Stampin Up and a .50″X6″ scrap of more of this card stock.

20140128-220713.jpg

Here is one last look at the insides of the card.

20140128-220858.jpg

One thought on “Valentine Cards

Leave a Reply

