Art Journal 1:3: Faith The Size Of A Mustard Seed

This past week I was studying about the power of words and the power (authority) given to Jesus. We have the power to speak life or death with our words. The Word of God has great power for all those who believe/have faith the size of a tiny mustard seed. I was reminded over and over again of the choices we make or don’t make with our words and exercising our mustard seed size faith.

20140323-153208.jpg

Last summer while we traveled in Alaska I took a lot of pictures of huge mountains that had layers of lush evergreens on the lower part of the mountain and then the tops were covered in beautiful snow capped with ice.

20140323-153737.jpg

As I read Matthew 17 and all it’s references in my study bible, I began to remember just how huge those mountains are in Alaska! Sometimes our troubles are just as big if not seemingly larger. Jesus said in verse 20, nothing is impossible for those who have faith the size of a mustard seed.

I went through some of my pictures and found one that I really liked and it’s the basis for my art journal this week. I felt as though I had bitten off more than I could chew once I started to sketch it and used some Gelatos to do the first layer of colors. As I looked at it, I felt like throwing in the towel. It was not what I envisioned or in my photos! The only thing left of the Gelatos is the water by the way!

20140323-155525.jpg

Often life has been that way for us. We get bogged down in the now and can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel or the forest for the trees in our way.

We must live life exercising our mustard seed sized faith. This means being determined in our study of God’s Word, diligent in spending time talking with God and listening for Him to speak. Finally it means speaking to our mountains with faith in our Savior Jesus Christ. Become relentless in this! Refuse to give up!

Jesus came to live (teaching us) and died for our sins so that we could live an abundant life. It’s not always easy, but it’s very possible. So I made up my mind and my heart that I was going to finish this art journal entry. I came home and began to pray about some direction for what mediums to use for this entry and looked up references for mixing colors to get the colors need from my very basic paint colors. As I began to search online and in my supplies I found something I don’t recall ever buying and it’s exactly what I needed to make my acrylic paints not dry too fast. How’s that for provision!

Speak life with your words. Hold your tongue when feeling low or irritable. Pray often. Pray the Psalm’s when you don’t know what to pray. Study His Word. Believe His Word. Measure all for truth against the Word. Live life with hope. Pray about decisions in your life and listen for Him to speak to you regarding what you have asked him about. I knew with Gods help I could finish this entry and hopefully like it at the end. I became intentional as I mixed small amounts of paint to find the perfect colors for each part of the painting.

Speak God’s Word to your mountains every time you think about it or when you come against it. Don’t let doubt or fear make choices for you. I’ve never painted anything other than paint by number, so all of this is very outside my box. When it came to the trees I had no clue how to do this. So I got on Pinterest and looked for tree paintings and found two very short video tutorials! Yes even my art journal crafting can be guided by God! I love that He cares about the little things in my life!! My trees are far from perfect, but I like them and am quite satisfied with their final out come.

With faith, hope, belief, and determination to speak the Word of God to our small and big mountains nothing is impossible to us who believe!

Blessings,
Donna Lee

Leave a Reply

