FAITH 101 – Art Journal 1:7

Wow, it’s been a busy 2 weeks! Not to mention a very emotional couple of weeks as well, but I will share about that later as I am sure it will make it’s way into my art journal. I am letting go and allowing the Holy Spirit to be my guide in this art journal journey. The study of The Word has been amazing in itself and such a great comfort and very energizing at times. If you been on this type of journey, there is almost always some spiritual warfare going on when we dig deeper into The Word. Dealing with that has been hard, but I am turning it all over to God to handle moment by moment. I am behind, but we will see what tomorrow brings!

Last weeks page was finished last Sunday, but I had to journal it and that did not happen until early this morning as I waited for my Grandson to get up.

From an art perspective, this entry was about using some resist embossing and some new stencils with paints, charcoal pencil, and a sharpie. I worked on some shadows and was pleased with what I accomplished, however I realize I have some work to do in this area.

The Word study was FAITH.

20140426-222233.jpg

We all are given a measure of faith. Faith can and should manifest itself in our everyday lives. Below are ways that were revealed to me.

Faith in the power of prayer. Paul prayed with faith and had a faith filled expectation (power of expectation) that God would do what He promised.

Isaiah 29:14 ‘I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and I will set aside the understanding of the experts. Because Gods foolishness is wiser than human wisdom, and Gods weakness is stronger than human strength” 1 Cor 1:25 We cannot rely on the worlds wisdom or power, but only on our Abba with our measure of faith and exercising our belief in Him. Expect God to do what He has promised.

Pray Gods promises back to him (remind him) with faith and expectation that He is going to fulfill His promises. Refuse to have a wait and see attitude! Voice your expectation to Him who is waiting to show you mercy and is rising up to show you compassion. IS 30:18

20140426-223403.jpg

The backside of this page was sprayed with some paint spray that has a little shimmer to it. I started with a great stencil that has large dots on it and the gray/silver metallic spray paint. I over sprayed it and let sit on the page and stencil for a few minutes as I wanted the paint to puddle. I like how it worked! Sorry I did not take a photo before adding more layers to show you the full effect.

20140426-224031.jpg

I put down a positive stencil of a woman and one of a bird in a cage with some flower vines on it, and sprayed with a lilac shimmer paint. It worked perfectly around the woman but not so great on the bird cage.

20140426-224335.jpg

An art journal is the best place to learn what works and what does NOT work so it’s all good and fun! Things don’t always happen the way we planned or prayed for in life and sometimes it works out and sometimes not so much. My faith in God is what keeps me grounded and steady. When life goes horribly against all that I want or have prayed for, I want to scream. Instead I choose to get quiet and get on my knees. What I cannot handle, I know that my Heavenly Father can.

While I am waiting on The Lord I am staying spiritually fit. I do this with several daily doses of His Word. I pray constantly. All day long when things are happening or thoughts are in my head or I feel something in my heart or spirit, I ask Him about it and give it over to Him. And last but not least I wait with a positive expectation for His provision and blessings and make time to be still and listen for Him to speak. IS 40:31 says that we who wait upon The Lord will renew our strength, soar on wings like eagles, run and not grow weary, walk and not faint. This is where the energy comes from. Faith pleases God! Hebrews 11:6 says He is the rewarder of those who seek him. When we are seeking and serving The Lord his provision is coming.

Romans 14:23 reminds us that everything we do that is not in faith we do in sin! Ouch!!! Pray before you act or commit. If you do not have His peace about what you prayed about, do not do it! He is faithful to guide you and will give you His peace if you seek him and ask Him. PUSH – Pray Until Something Happens.

Our faith must be firmly and deeply rooted in Gods Word. Know His promises. A tree that will see many generations has strong and deep roots. Our roots need to be firmly planted in The Word. Expect (wait patiently, preparing) for Him to give what you have asked for or to show you what you did not ask for that is better than your request. We don’t always know what or how to pray in circumstances, but we have the Holy Spirit who intercedes and prays on our behalf.

20140426-230244.jpg

I like owls! When I see or think about owls, wisdom comes to mind. The Word says to ask God for His wisdom and he will give it to you! Luke 21:15 For I will give you words and wisdom that none of your adversaries will be able to resist or contradict.
1 Cor 1:30 It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God—that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption.
Ephesians 1:17
I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.
Wisdom is a fantastic word study to do. To get started follow this link.

After I sprayed a little blue shimmer paint and dried it with my heat gun I used my new stencil with some brown paint. One owl each for the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Owls are watching. They stay focused and are aware of what is going on around them. If you are listening, you will hear them. We have the presence of the Holy Spirit to watch for us on this earth. He is our guide until God will send the Son to resurrect his church. If we are disciplined, staying focused, and listening we will hear Him and our lives will be blessed for it.

20140426-231008.jpg

Let us hold fast to the confession of our faith! Heb 4:14 Trust only in The Lord. 2 Cor 5:7 Live by faith. I added these children to this page to represent our childlike faith. Dispute or rebuke your doubts or negative thoughts by confessing Gods promises for your life and others. Faith in Him allows us to wait patiently. Heb 16 Faith works through love – Gal 5:6 Faith produces results. Luke 7:50 We are healed by faith. Luke 17:19.

I have been fascinated with gears. As I added these to this page and embossed them with clear embossing powder, I was pondering how God has used all the twist and turns in my life to mold me into who I am today. Everything works together for the good of those who trust in Him. As we believe, so we become! Faith is a deal changer and worth your time to study it. I use a few different bibles and concordances and Strongs Concordance. Looking at the Hebrew and Greek words for faith is eye opening and I encourage you to do this. I try to not spend time focused on the past, except to see where I was and praise God for where he has moved me to. The past is good for knowing what choices not to make again, but it’s easy to dwell there in the familiar territory and get in murky mud of past grief and mistakes. Instead see them as gears for moving you into the person He has destined you to be.

I pray that you have a blessed week and a week filled with opportunities to seek Him and do what you love.

Blessings,
Donna Lee

Leave a Reply

