David A Man After Gods Own Heart – Art Journal 1:8

The story of King David is one of my all time favorites. From his calling by God to be King of Israel (1 SAM 16) the power and strength of God in his life, his success as a result of Gods power and might, his deliverance from Saul’s many attempts on his life (1 SAM 17-23) and David’s heart as he spares Saul’s life and Gods provision for him and his family (1 SAM 24-30).

2 Samuel reminds us of Gods everlasting covenant and redemption. We can read about times of great celebration and the Lords promise of an EVERLASTING dynasty; 2 SAM 7:16 “your house and kingdom will endure before Me forever.” – speaking of Jesus Christ. We also read about David’s failures and heart break (adultery and the treason of Absalom) and most importantly we see a formerly very blessed and successful David repent and our Abba is faithful to restore him! 2 SAM 2:13 “I have sinned against The Lord.’ Then Nathan replied to David ‘the Lord has taken away your sin; you will not die'”

20140504-161646.jpg

Psalm 51 is a great place to read and listen to David’s heart.
1 Be gracious to me, God,
according to Your faithful love;
according to Your abundant compassion,
blot out my rebellion.
2 Wash away my guilt
and cleanse me from my sin.
3 For I am conscious of my rebellion,
and my sin is always before me.
4 Against You—You alone—I have sinned
and done this evil in Your sight.
So You are right when You pass sentence;
You are blameless when You judge.
5 Indeed, I was guilty when I was born;
I was sinful when my mother conceived me.
6 Surely You desire integrity in the inner self,
and You teach me wisdom deep within.
7 Purify me with hyssop, and I will be clean;
wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.
8 Let me hear joy and gladness;
let the bones You have crushed rejoice.
9 Turn Your face away[a] from my sins
and blot out all my guilt.
10 God, create a clean heart for me
and renew a steadfast[b] spirit within me.
11 Do not banish me from Your presence
or take Your Holy Spirit from me.
12 Restore the joy of Your salvation to me,
and give me a willing spirit.[c]
13 Then I will teach the rebellious Your ways,
and sinners will return to You.
14 Save me from the guilt of bloodshed, God,
the God of my salvation,
and my tongue will sing of Your righteousness.
15 Lord, open my lips,
and my mouth will declare Your praise.
16 You do not want a sacrifice, or I would give it;
You are not pleased with a burnt offering.
17 The sacrifice pleasing to God is[d] a broken spirit.
God, You will not despise a broken and humbled heart.
18 In Your good pleasure, cause Zion to prosper;
build[e] the walls of Jerusalem.
19 Then You will delight in righteous sacrifices,
whole burnt offerings;
then bulls will be offered on Your altar.

Verses 10-13 are so sweet to my heart and ears. I am no Queen over anything except maybe in my StampinNScrapin studio, but I often have to go before our Father to have some heart surgery done. Life on this side of Heaven can make us cold and uncaring. We get callous and speak or think unkindly towards others. We commit acts that we know are against the will of our God. The Good News is that we have a High Priest in Jesus Christ that we can go directly to repent of our sins and be restored.

David knew how to recover from his sin. He understood there was a price to be paid. He choose not to wade in his pig pen and cry woe is me. Instead he reconciled the truth of Gods Word for himself and approached the throne admitting his sin and seeking to be restored. David exercised his faith (confident in Gods love) and asked to have his spirit renewed. We can do the same by praying this scripture back to Our Lord and Savior.

20140504-161935.jpg

My prayer is that you will refuse to live under the condemnation of your sins. Instead choose to repent of your sin to Him who paid the highest ransom for your life and ask him to restore you. We can overcome evil with good through Jesus. He is the Way the Truth and the Life everlasting. All who call on him, repent of their sins will not die an eternal death but will have an everlasting life.

20140504-162201.jpg

Crafting Notes: This weeks art journal entry started with some white gesso to cover the mixed media paper. I added a layer of turquoise paint that I applied using my old AARP membership card. This left some of the white gesso showing . I used a circle stencil and some blue paint but did not like the way it turned out, so I covered it with a layer of white gesso and let it dry then I added more turquoise paint. This left some texture on the bottom of the page which I liked. I found this sketch of Michael Angelo’s statue of David online and printed it onto some gray cardstock. I tore around him to leaving the core of the gray paper to show around the edges. He is adhered with a gel medium.

I struggled with his private parts and how to deal with it. My friend and I talked about it and I had almost come to the point of cutting some heart printed boxer shorts for him, but overnight I decided it was best to leave it alone and use my title to cover him.

In our world today there is a massive destruction of the family caused by sins of sexual nature. I am thankful for the power of God and the grace bought and paid for on the cross by Jesus for all of our sins. Gods grace covers ALL sin. One sin is no greater offense to Him who bore the cost of it than any other. I want all to know that His grace is available and it covers all of our sins and so I put the name of God over this part of anatomy. I do not intend it as disrespectful. It is Jesus death on the cross that covers all of us and He looks at our sin no more when we repent of it and ask to be restored. Jesus death was not pretty. Our sin is not pretty, but it is covered by the sacrifice of The Lamb of God.

The heart stencil is one of my favorites to use and this time I can use them for part of my title. I used some ultramarine blue paint to add a few hearts. My title is stamped using some clear stamps from my stash. I believe that both sets are from Technique Tuesday. I stamped the title on some scraps from some Gelli prints I made a few weeks ago and cut the ends to look like banners. I used more of the Gelli print scraps for my journaling on the back and I really like how they look and the interest it adds interest to a project.

20140504-164505.jpg

May you have a blessed week and some happy craft time in the midst of it!

Blessing and His Peace,
Donna Lee

Leave a Reply

