Holy Spirit Intercede – Bring Back Our Girls Art Journal 1:11

20140525-082242-30162800.jpg

Today’s Art Journal entry is dedicated to the nearly 300 young women who were kidnapped and reportedly being sold into slavery by Islamic militants in Nigeria. I am praying for these girls to be rescued and returned home. I don’t know how long it will be before God answers or how it will come to pass, but I do believe it will happen. I do not count on my prayers for these sweet girls, but rather on the interceding of the Holy Spirit to pray according to the will of God.

1 Kings 13:6 And the king said to the man of God, Entreat now the favor of the Lord your God and pray for me, that my hand may be restored to me. And the man of God entreated the Lord, and the king’s hand was restored and became as it was before.

The above scripture is one of the times where we see the power of God come immediately in response to prayer. When that happens it’s amazing and we are in awe of our God.

Maybe your like me and you have daily, sometimes hourly conversations with Abba for long periods of time and nothing happens! It wasn’t that long ago I had been praying for my Poppy who was bed bound with Parkinson’s for a very long time. Poppy was a wonderful prayer warrior. He prayed and praised our Lord continuously. Sometimes out loud while working on our cars, bikes, in the garden, or taking care of the yard. Always at night time.

Poppy was an active man. He was a postman and he walked his route in Miami for 30+ years. Carrying a mail bag, peddling a mail cart, and then just pushing the cart. Always doing something! He’d watch the news or a football game sometimes, but it wasn’t long before he was nodding off to sleep. He needed that time of rest to restore his energy for the rest of the day.

I thought for Poppy to be bed bound was torture. Top that off with losing the ability to swallow and speak. I had many conversations with the Father about how this disease could be allowed to afflict him in such a horrendous fashion. To me, Poppy was Jesus with skin on. He always had something good to say. He always had numerous praises to God on his lips. He was faithful, hard working, responsible, giving, and willing to sacrifice for others. How could God let him suffer?

I begged, pleaded, and cried out unto The Lord for many years on Poppies behalf. I prayed for strength for my Granny as she was his caretaker. All of those prayers and my sweet, beloved, and wonderful Poppy just continued to deteriorate for year after year. I could not understand why God was not answering our prayers.

One day many years after Poppy had passed away I was telling The Lord how thankful I was for Poppy and Granny. The Holy Spirit choose that moment to tell me why Poppy had laid in the bed for so long. I heard the Spirit speak that even though Poppy couldn’t talk to us, he was still praying and praising The Lord. He was offering up prayers for my family and future generations as I had heard him do many many times in my life.

We have two wonderful grandchildren now. Both of them were born very premature and we needed Gods intervention for them. I know The Lord heard Poppies prayers from the heart and was so gracious to answer them with tiny but perfectly healthy grandchildren!

Romans 8:26-27 In the same way the Spirit also helps our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words; and He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.

My Poppy didn’t have a view into the future to know how to pray, but he did have the presence and the power of the Holy Spirit who intercedes on his and our behalf.

It’s my hope to keep bringing awareness of this situation about these young women so that others will join me in praying for their safety, their emotional well being, their safe return home, and the capture of their captors to bring judgment upon them for their crimes.

I recently read that prayer is the ministry and everything else flows out of it. Imagine what would happen in the Kingdom if we bombarded the Father with daily, unceasing prayer! Please join me in praying for these young women and the world and her leaders. If we as the people of the world who are called by His name will humble ourselves and pray and seek His face as turn from our sinful ways, He will hear from Heaven, forgive our sin and heal our land. 2Chronicles 7:14

Craft Notes:
My acrylic painting of the Cross was inspired by a print of a cross painting that hangs in one of the ladies bathrooms at my church.

20140525-074123-27683870.jpg
I used Gesso on mixed media paper and acrylic paints.

20140525-074305-27785290.jpg

I came across this image of a woman’s head with an Africa map as her hair on Google and printed it out. I love this imagery. We are the people who make up our Nations! Let us join together in our belief in God Our Provider to bring back our girls!

20140525-082941-30581265.jpg

I wrote my title using a paint pen, white acrylic paint, and sharpies.

20140525-075307-28387517.jpg
Thanks for stopping by today!

Blessings and His Peace!
Donna Lee

#Bring Back Our Girls
#Artjournal

20140525-083537-30937744.jpg

One thought on “Holy Spirit Intercede – Bring Back Our Girls Art Journal 1:11

  1. Oh Donna, what a beautiful inspiring picture you have painted. I know you have such a heart for out Lord, you always have such inspiring thoughts that you share, thank you for that. I unfortunately need to be reminded daily of what I should be praying for. Your reminders are forever needed and loved. Love you, Mona

Leave a Reply

