Bible Art Journaling Advent 2015

Early, very early this morning I got up inspired to journal for day 1 of 2015 Advent reading.  I read Genesis 1, but my focus for the art journaling is Genesis 1:1-5. The prompt over at Advent Illustrated Facebook group for day 1 is light. 

Genesis 1:1-5 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters. And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. God saw that the light was good, and he separated the light from the darkness. God called the light “day,” and the darkness he called “night.” And there was evening, and there was morning—the first day. 

When I think of light, I think of the sunrise or the sunset and I adore getting to watch both! I love and worship God, and as a result when I get to see His glory in creation when it’s happening before my very eyes I failed deeper in love with Jesus!  His power, creativity, all knowing, loving and gracious acts of selflessness and servant hood is amazing! How can you not love Him when you see what He has created and see it working seamlessly! 

 

Bible Art Journaling Advent 2015 Day1

 
I used Watercolor pencils, Gelatos, A2 pencil, paint brushes, and water! Easy, easy, easy. 

This page was an experiment to see how I liked using these products on a bible page that was not prepped with clear gesso or matte medium. I love these products, but I like how they respond with a pretreated page of gesso or matte medium better! 

This summer as spent time outside of Seattle, WA and saw some amazing sunrises and sunsets. It was gorgeous and my rendition does not do my Lord Justice, but I will not forget the light He is in my life and how his blessings to me through His amazing creation fills me with awe and love for Him.

Have a blessed day and even greater Advent and Merry Christmas!

Donna Lee

Leave a Reply

