Bible Art Journaling Advent Illustrated 2015 Genesis 1:31

And God saw everything that he had made, and behold, it was very good. Genesis 1:31

I love that God takes time to look at everything He had made, and saw that it was not just good but very good! We need to make sure that we are following the Lords example and taking time to look at everything He created and even those things we create with the gifts we are given and appreciate how very good they are!

  
As we journey through advent preparing to receive the Word who became flesh and is the light of men, let’s live intentionally to make time to see creation and what our hands, heart, mind, body and spirit creates and see how unique each one is and how wonderful the Creator is who is our author and finisher of our faith.

I used a light coat of !liquitex professional matte medium on this page and dried it using my heat gun, careful to keep the heat gun moving so not to burn the page. 

I started with my tree of life in the center that is a Hero Arts clear stamp. I used gelatos to color my stamp and then lightly sprayed with water and immediately stamped it. I dried it again and then went in with my water color pencils to add more color and details using a paint brush with just a little water to move the color around the stamped image.

My focus scripture is highlighted in pink water color pencil. The rest on my background is gelatos. I highly recommend these! They do not bleed through the pages and nor do my water color pencils. 

Next I used stamped images of these animals that were fussy cut to be used as mask for card making and scrap book pages of an old stamp set called In The Wild from Stampin Up. I used the mask to trace the outline of the image of each animal lightly with my black water color pencil. Once I had them traced I used other water color pencils to add more details and shading and then activated the color using my paint brushes cleaning and drying between each color. 

  
Art journaling is fun! Bible Art journaling takes the Word into a new creative exploration of the scriptures. As I was working on each animal I found myself thinking about what it might have been like for God as he designed the giraffe! That long neck and super tall and lanky legs. I think giraffes are very comical to look at and watch and so I know God has a great sense of humor! God thought of everything we needed and everything that has life needed! He is all in the details. Next time you look at an animal look at the details. Zoom in and allow the Spirit to show you how grand our God is!

I am trying to not over think these journal entries. I am reading the scriptures and letting the Holy Spirit to flow in and out of me in the process and enjoy this time of creating based on Gods word for my life. 

I doubt that I will read these scriptures again and not recall this time of creating this journal entry in my bible. I have a lot of different bibles and I am journaling in a few of them to have enough to pass down to each grand child. The Lord willing, I will have plenty of time to journal in each of their bibles. 

Blessings and His Peace,

Donna Lee

Leave a Reply

